The founding members are the Bayerisches Nationalmuseum (Bavarian National Museum), the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (Bavarian State Library), the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen (Bavarian State Painting Collections), the Generaldirektion der Staatlichen Archive Bayerns (General Directorate of the Bavarian State Archives), the Institut für Kunstgeschichte (Institute for Art History) at Ludwig Maximilian University, Munich, the Institut für Zeitgeschichte (Institute of Contemporary History), the Landesstelle für die nichtstaatlichen Museen in Bayern (Regional Office for Non-State Museums in Bavaria), the Staatsarchiv München (Bavarian State Archives, Munich), the Staatliche Graphische Sammlung München (State Collection of Prints and Drawings, Munich) and the Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte (ZI; Central Institute for Art History).

Chairman: Dr. Mathias Weniger, Bayerisches Nationalmuseum
Deputy Chairman: Prof. Dr. Christian Fuhrmeister, Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte